Massage Therapist Training Arkansas

Massage Therapist Requirements in Arkansas

In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Arkansas, you must:

  • Be a United States citizen or resident alien
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Not have knowingly performed massage therapy at or for a sexually oriented business.
  • Complete a 500-hour massage therapist training course including:

1. 175 hours of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications of massage therapy;

2. 225 hours of technique;

3. 25 hours of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, and heliotherapy;

4. 25 hours of hygiene and infection control;

5. 25 hours of massage therapy law, business management, and professional ethics; and

6. 25 hours of related subjects approved by the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy.

  • Provide evidence of a passing score on either the MBLEx or NCBTMB exams as well as a special Arkansas Massage Therapy Law exam.

After you complete a 500-hour training program, you then can fill out an application packet to become a therapist. You must mail in the application packet to the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy, along with a cashier’s check or money order for $180. The request form can be found here. http://www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com/documents/Instructions and Application for Licensure revised 11 2013.pdf

The following items must also accompany the application:

  • Copy of valid photo ID: Driver’s License, State issued ID Card, Passport, or US Military ID.
  • Copy of Social Security card.
  • Copy of high school diploma and/or transcript, college diploma and/or transcript, or GED.
  • TB Test –Must be issued by a qualified medical doctor on official letterhead or clinic form.

In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy.

Following licensure, note that all massage therapists must complete at least 18 hours of continuing education every year. Failure to complete those hours may be grounds for revocation of a massage therapist license.

Arkansas Massage Therapy Schools

There are a number of massage therapy schools throughout Arkansas listed below.

Arkansas College of Massage Therapy
1000 S. Caraway Rd Ste 112B
Jonesboro, AR 72402
870-897-9283
Arkansas School of Massage
6108 South 31st Street
Fort Smith, AR 72908
479-648-0021
Arkansas Therapeutic Massage Institute and Spa
853 Third Street
Hot Springs, AR 71902
501-623-3888
Blue Cliff College
2503 Hiram Davis Place
Fayetteville, AR 72703
800-960-3346
Body Wellness Massage Academy
1212 Military Rd Suite D
Benton, AR 72015
501-315-4325
The Edge School of Massage
1211 W. James Street
Fayetteville, AR 72703
479-443-3646
Healing Therapy and Education LLC
690 Tate Street
Camden, AR 71701
870-231-9515
Heritage College
1309 Old Forge Drive
Little Rock, AR 72227
501-708-0909
Life's Work School of Massage
210 S. Thompson St. Suite 4-A
Springdale, AR 72764
479-365-2079
Massage Works School of Massage
201 West Jefferson St. # A & B
PO Box 1033
Mountain View, AR 72560
870-269-6101
Massage Works School of Massage
701 N. Walnut Suite C
Harrison, AR 72601
870-365-2696
Northeast Arkansas School of Massage
2702 S. Culberhouse Suite M
Jonesboro, AR 72401
870-931-1880
Northwest Arkansas School of Massage
3-A Dogwood Ridge
Eureka Springs, AR 72632
479-366-3583
Radiance School of Massage
3810 Central Avenue Suite E
Hot Springs, AR 71913
501-520-0809
River Valley School of Massage
2003 East Parkway Drive
Russellville, AR 72802
479-890-7876
Touch for Health School of Massage
502 East 24th Street
Texarkana, AR 71854
870-774-1000
Touching America School of Massage
600 Pine Forest Drive Suite 120
Maumelle, AR 72113
501-772-1226

Arkansas Massage Therapist Salary

This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Arkansas click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Arkansas.