Massage Therapist Training Hawaii
Massage Therapist Requirements in Hawaii
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Hawaii, you must:
- Be a United States citizen or resident alien
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a current CPR certification (not online)
- Pass an computer based test on Hawaii state rules and statutes
- Complete a 570-hour massage therapist training course including:
1. 50 hours of human anatomy, physiology, and structural kinesiology; and
2. 100 hours on: the proper procedure in massaging, record keeping, hygiene, theory, technique for specific conditions, contraindications of massage for specific techniques according to conditions, draping, and assessment of the client’s condition and the general technique to be applied.
- Provide evidence of a passing score on either the MBLEx or NCBTMB exams.
After you complete a 570-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a therapist. You must mail in the application to the Hawaii Board of Massage Therapy, along with a cashier’s check or money order for $50. The form can be found here. http://hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl/boards/massage/application_publications/massage-therapist-license/Info- Require- Instruct – App for Massage Therapist_10.14R.pdf
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Hawaii Board of Massage Therapy.
Following licensure, massage therapists are not currently required to complete continuing education to renew their license.
Hawaii Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Hawaii click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Hawaii.