Massage Therapist Training Iowa
Massage Therapist Requirements in Iowa
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Iowa, you must:
- Complete a 600-hour massage therapist training course
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Provide evidence of a passing score on the MBLEx or NCBTMB exam
- Be currently certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
- Be currently certified in first aid
After you complete a 600-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a therapist. You can complete an application online here or you can mail in the application to the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy, along with a cashier’s check or money order for $120. The form can be found here.
The following items must also accompany the application:
Detailed massage therapy education information including: school catalog, school curriculum including a syllabus, class schedule with number of clock hours for each subject taught, a sample diploma and a sample transcript that includes your name, the name of the program, graduation date, and the degree, diploma or certificate awarded.
A curriculum breakdown where at least one course is identified for each of the following ten areas:
- Fundamentals of massage therapy.
- Clinical application of massage and bodywork therapies.
- Client communication theory and practice.
- Health care referral theory and practice.
- Anatomy and physiology.
- Pathology and skills in infection control, injury prevention and sanitation.
- Iowa law and ethics.
- Business management, including legal and financial aspects, documentation and record maintenance.
- Wellness and healthy lifestyle theory and practice in such areas as hydrotherapy, hot and cold applications, spa techniques, nutrition, herbal studies, wellness models, somatic movement and energy work.
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy.
Following licensure, note that all massage therapists must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education every two years. Failure to complete those hours may be grounds for revocation of a massage therapist license.
Iowa Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Iowa click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Iowa.