Massage Therapist Training Mississippi
Massage Therapist Requirements in Mississippi
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Mississippi, you must:
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Have a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification (not online)
- Have a current first aid certification (not online)
- Complete a criminal background check
- Provide evidence of a passing score on the MBLEx or NCETMB exam
- Complete a 700-hour massage therapist training course.
- Provide proof of completion of a 3 hour Mississippi Law / Rules and Regulations CEU course or take and pass the Mississippi Rules and Regulations examination.
After you complete a 700-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a therapist. You must mail in the application to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy, along with a check money order for $250. The form can be found here.
Finally, your signature on the application must be notarized. This can result in a small fee. We suggest you contact your bank regarding their price for this service. Note that many credit unions provide this service for free to their members.
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.
Following licensure, note that all massage therapists must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education annually, including 3 hours of Mississippi Law and 3 hours of Ethics. Failure to complete these hours results in a refusal to renew your massage therapist license by the board.
Mississippi Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Mississippi click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Mississippi.