Massage Therapist Training Missouri
Massage Therapist Requirements in Missouri
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Missouri, you must:
- Complete a criminal background check
- Provide evidence of a passing score on the MBLEx, NCETM, NCETMB, ABT, NCCAOM, or AMMA NBCE exam
- Complete a 500-hour massage therapist training course including:
1. 300 hours of massage theory and practice techniques;
2. 100 hours of anatomy and physiology; and
3. 50 hours of business practice, professional ethics, hygiene and massage law in the state of Missouri
After you complete a 500-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a therapist. You must mail in the application to the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage, along with a check or money order for $125. The form can be found here.
The application must also include a passport photo.
Finally, your signature on the application must be notarized. This can result in a small fee. We suggest you contact your bank regarding their price for this service. Note that many credit unions provide this service for free to their members.
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage.
Following licensure, note that all massage therapists must complete at least 12 hours of continuing education every two years. Failure to complete these hours results in a refusal to renew your massage therapist license by the board.
Missouri Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Missouri click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Missouri.