Massage Therapist Training Texas
Massage Therapist Requirements in Texas
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Texas, you must:
- Be at least eighteen (18) years of age
- Provide evidence of a passing score on the, NCETMB, NCETM, or MBLEx exams
- Provide a copy of your social security card
- Complete a jurisprudence exam (for an additional fee of $35)
- Complete a 500-hour massage therapist training course including:
1. 125 hours of Swedish massage therapy techniques;
2. 50 hours of anatomy;
3. 25 hours of physiology;
4. 50 hours of kinesiology;
5. 40 hours of pathology;
6. 20 hours of hydrotherapy;
7. 45 hours of massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and professional ethics; and
8. 20 hours of health and hygiene, first aid, universal precautions, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).
After you complete a 500-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a massage therapist. You must mail in the application to the Texas Department of State Health Services, along with a check or money order for $117. The form can be found here.
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the Texas Department of State Health Services.
Following licensure, note that all massage therapists must complete at least 12 hours of continuing education every two years. Failure to complete these hours may result in a refusal to renew your massage therapist license by the state.
Texas Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Texas click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Texas.