Massage Therapist Training Utah
Massage Therapist Requirements in Utah
In order to become a licensed massage therapist in the State of Utah, you must:
- Provide evidence of a passing score on the, NCBTMB, NCETM, NESL, or MBLEx exams
- Submit two fingerprint cards (Form FD-258) for a search by the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
- Complete a Utah Massage Therapy Law & Rule Examination included in the application
- Complete a 600-hour massage therapist training course including:
1. 125 hours of anatomy, physiology and kinesiology;
2. 285 hours of massage theory including the five basic Swedish massage strokes;
3. 35 hours of professional standards, ethics and business practices;
4. 15 hours of sanitation and universal precautions Including CPR and first aid; and
5. 40 hours of pathology.
After you complete a 600-hour training program, you then can fill out an application to become a massage therapist. You must mail in the application to the State of Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing, along with a check or money order for $100. The form can be found here.
In addition, original transcripts from the massage therapy school where training was completed must be sent directly to the State of Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing.
Following licensure, massage therapists are not currently required to complete continuing education to renew their license.
Utah Massage Therapist Salary
This training is most valuable if it translates into earnings. For specific data on massage therapist’s salary in Utah click here. We’ve extracted information from labor surveys to give you local data specific to salary expectatations for massage therapists in Utah.